结肠癌筛查

另一种常见的早期筛查试验应用于检测结肠直肠癌。通常有两个测试能提供早期筛查:粪便隐血测试和结肠内窥镜检查。

大便隐血试验检查

大便隐血试验通过检查粪便涂片中是否有血液的存在,而起到早期筛查的效果。测试的一次性灵敏度为50%-60%,若长期保持每一到两年重复检查,该检查的灵敏度可达90% (方案灵敏度)。虽然一次性测试的灵敏度可以通过补液的方法来增加,但这种方法可导致结果变异,而使次测试方法无效。低灵敏度导致了大量的假阴性结果,使病患被表面的健康假象所蒙蔽。

结肠镜检查是由柔性内窥镜插入肛门来检查生长在大肠内的息肉。这两个检查都可检验癌变细胞的存在,让病患得以及早发现并治疗,从最大幅度上减少副作用,并增加病患存活和康复的机率

软式乙状结肠镜

虽然内窥镜检查的特异度非常高(98%-100%),很少出现假阳性,但对整个结肠的灵敏度却只有35%-70%。这是由于在没有末端结肠肿瘤的情况下,右侧结肠腺瘤很容易被乙状结肠镜所忽略。

结肠镜

结肠镜检查可以检测整个结肠并取出息肉和做肿瘤活检。结肠镜对检查息肉和检测癌症的特异度和灵敏度都很高,特别是针对大型息肉高达95%。但是经过反复的结肠镜研究表明,小于5毫米的腺瘤失败率为15-25%,大于10毫米的失败率为0-6%。

Back to Top

Screening for Colon Cancer

Another common early stage screening test is used to detect cancer of the colon. There are actually two tests typically offered for early screening – a fecal occult blood test and a colonoscopy.

Fecal occult blood test (FOBT)

The fecal occult blood test relies on checking a smear of fecal material for the presence of blood. The sensitivity of the test is only 50–60% for one-time use, but may be as high as 90% when it is used every 1–2 years over a long period of time (programmatic sensitivity). Although the sensitivity can be increased using rehydration, this leads to variability in the reaction that invalidates the method as a screening procedure. Low sensitivity leads to a high number of false-negative outcomes, resulting in false confidence.

A colonoscopy involves the insertion of flexible endoscope into the anus in order to check for polyps and growths in the large intestine. Both tests can indicate the presence of small cancers, which can then get treated early, thereby minimizing side effects and increasing the patient’s chances of survival.

Flexible Sigmoidoscopy

While the specificity of the findings with the endoscopic procedure is very high (98–100%), with few false-positives, the sensitivity is low for the entire colon and ranges from 35% to 70%. This is due to the significant number of right-sided adenomas that occur in the absence of distal tumors and are therefore missed on flexible sigmoidoscopy.

Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy allows for the detection and removal of polyps and biopsy of cancer throughout the colon. Both the specificity and sensitivity of colonoscopy for detecting polyps and cancer are high (at least 95% for large polyps; see below). The miss rate for polyps, on the basis of studies of back-to-back colonoscopies, is 15–25% for adenomas smaller than 5 mm in diameter and 0–6% for adenomas of 10 mm or more.

Back to Top