癌症筛查

癌症筛查应作为定期医疗保健中重要的一部分。针对某些类型的癌症,筛查测试有助于患者在没有任何症状之前就发现癌症的产生。这就意味着即使患者感觉自己身体健康并拥有健康良好的生活方式, 他的身体里也可能正藏着隐患。

请与你的医生讨论你自身可能存在的癌症风险,并向医生询问适合的癌症筛查测试。向医生报告家族癌症病史是至关重要的,你的癌症家族史可能意味着你患某些癌症的风险要比普通人高。

恶性肿瘤未经治疗的时间越长,越有可能在身体其他部位扩散。因此,卫生机构鼓励人们进行早期癌症筛查,其中就包括具有准确生物标志物的癌症。对于普通人群,筛检结肠癌,宫颈癌和乳腺癌都是常见的早期筛检。对于鼻咽癌的高风险人群,NP Screen™ 基因测试就是一个拥有99%准确度的早期鼻咽癌检测方法。

什么是一个好的筛查验测?

没有任何筛查是100%准确的,但一个好的筛查测试是能够使癌症患者的死亡率有所下降的。
研究人员还在不断求证筛查测试的其他益处,其中包括了早期发现癌症能够提高生活质量,减少极度治疗的危害性。
世界卫生组织(WHO)建议在早期筛查测试推广之前,审查以下几个重要因素:
• 灵敏度 – 如何有效地识别癌症病患。
• 特异度 – 对于没有患癌症的病患有多少几率检测结果会显示阴性(正常)
• 可接受性 – 人口中有多少受益的目标人群会接受这个测试方法

癌症的早期诊断

早期癌症治疗是最为有效的,它能减少疾病的扩散和转移到身体其他部位的机会和时间。直接观测通常应用于检测已成型的肿瘤,同时也意味着其肿瘤体积中可能已有上百万数量的癌细胞。最佳情况下,癌变细胞会借由血液里的早期生物标记而被识别 。生物标记则说明一个特定癌症的存在,例如特定的代谢和蛋白质的附产品,或在病毒感染的情况下,该病毒基因组的分段。

安大略省癌症护理

安大略癌症护理(CCO)是安大略省属下负责改善癌症服务的一个机构。 CCO鼓励并协助安省居民对多种癌症进行筛查,其中就包括了针对女性的乳腺癌和子宫颈癌,以及对男性和女性健康都有着威胁的大肠癌。他们的座右铭是“癌症筛查拯救生命”。CCO目前筛查的重点是一些广泛影响着安省居民的癌症。鼻咽癌影响的特定族裔范围较小,因此将针对这些人群进行相应的医疗教育。

其他癌症筛查:
鼻咽癌筛查
宫颈癌筛查
结肠癌筛查

Back to Top

Screening

Screening should be part of your regular medical care. Screening tests help find some types of cancer before you have any symptoms. That means you have them even if you feel fine and have a healthy lifestyle.

Talk to your doctor to learn more about your risk of cancer and what screening tests you should have. Be sure to mention any family history of cancer. A family history of certain cancers may mean your risk is higher than normal.

The more time that tumors have to grow without treatment, the more likely they are to metastasize (spread elsewhere in the body). Therefore, public health agencies encourage people to be screened for early detection of those cancers that have an accurate test for disease biomarkers. For the general population, screening tests for colon, cervical and breast cancer are common. For those individuals at higher risk for nasopharyngeal cancer, the NP Screen™ genetic test is a 99% accurate method to detect the presence of NPC at its earliest stages.

What makes a good screening test

No screening test is 100% accurate, but a good screening test is one that results in a decrease in death rates in people with cancer.

Researchers also look for other benefits of screening including improved quality of life or less harmful treatments as a result of finding the cancer early.

The World Health Organization (WHO) suggests reviewing several factors before introducing a test as a screening tool for the general population. These include:

• Sensitivity – How effectively the test identifies people who actually have cancer.
• Specificity – How often a test give negative (normal) results for people who do not have cancer.
• Acceptability – Will the population who will benefit the most from the test (the target population) agree to be tested by this method.

Early Diagnosis of Cancer

The best results for treatment arise when cancer is found early. The reason is because there is less opportunity for the disease to spread and metastasize to other parts of the body. Direct observation is often used for visible cancers, but even by this time the tumor volume is millions of cells in size. Ideally, cancers should be identified by early stage biomarkers in a blood or tissue sample. In this way, a marker would indicate that a particular cancer is present; for example specific metabolic or protein byproducts, or in the case of a viral infection, fragments of the viral genome would be evident.

Cancer Care Ontario

Cancer Care Ontario is an Agency of the Province of Ontario that is responsible for improving cancer services. CCO reaches out to Ontarians directly by encouraging them to be screened for a number of cancers including, breast and cervical cancer for women, and colorectal cancer for both men and women. Their motto is “Cancer Screening Saves Lives”. While CCO focuses on cancers that affect a majority of the inhabitants of Ontario, Nasopharyngeal cancer affects a much smaller subset of the population, and will require future ethnic focused education.

Screening for:
Nasopharyngeal Cancer
Cervical Cancer
Colon Cancer

Back to Top