研究

研究成果

從2000年開始研發,NP Screen™並已在2008年獲得批准成功開發出篩選試劑盒和實驗室專利基因檢測程序,通過將EB病毒DNA擴增的方式來檢測高危人群中鼻咽癌的存在。該實驗室根據美國臨床實驗室1988年改進修正案(CLIA)的規章進行運作。採用實時定量PCR和從鼻咽部空間獲取樣本的技術。

最初的5-6年,研發精力都集中投入到了可高度重複的體外DNA試驗,該試驗使用口咽刷擦拭鼻咽部並採集樣本,用以檢測鼻咽腔上皮細胞中的EB病毒核抗原1 (EBNA1)基因。這項試驗在同一實驗室開發,按照NP Screen™的實驗室專利基因檢測程序,在Quantstudio平台進行實時聚合酶鏈反應(PCR)。為保證刷檢採樣的上皮細胞能在常溫下運輸,我們的團隊開發出一種符合ISO標準的運輸保護劑,該享有專利的保護劑已被證實能長時間維持採樣的穩定性,從而保證了採樣的安全郵寄運輸。

在加拿大和香港的臨床試驗證實,正常測試者的報告結果中存在可以忽略的EB病毒檢測水平,而鼻咽癌患者的測試結果則顯示較高的EB病毒檢測水平。現已證實:鼻咽癌陽性及陰性患者的EB病毒基因檢測數量,在統計學上有顯著差異。因此建立了陽性及陰性鼻咽癌的相對截斷值分界。

臨床試驗

the university of hong kong

Queen-Mary-Hospital-Hong-Kong
研究 1:

NP Screen™ 熱烈宣布將會支持資助由香港大學李​​嘉誠醫學院臨床腫瘤學系臨床教授及系主任鄺麗雲教授設計的研究項目。鄺麗雲教授將進行前瞻性研究,驗測輻療後的鼻咽癌患者,以評估NP Screen™的診斷鼻咽癌復發比較臨床評估和血漿EB病毒基因測試。總的研究將涉及50多名患者,預計需要3年時間才能完成。

研究 2:

NP Screen™ 熱烈宣布將會支持資助由香港大學李​​嘉誠醫學院臨床腫瘤學系臨床教授及系主任鄺麗雲教授設計的研究項目。鄺麗雲教授將進行前瞻性研究,通過使用NP Screen™對鼻咽癌的複發患者進行檢測,以評估NP Screen™對於檢測病情復發情況的靈敏性和特異度。

研究 3:

NP Screen™ 熱烈宣布將會支持資助由香港大學李​​嘉誠醫學院外科學系臨床助理教授曾敬賢醫生所設計的第二項研究項目。曾醫生將使用口咽刷對鼻咽部採樣,並檢測採樣細胞中EB病毒基因水平,從而對鼻咽癌局部復發現象進行研究 。此外,還會針對NP Screen™對於檢測鼻咽癌復發情況的靈敏性和特異度進行評估。

Back to Top

Research

What Research has been done?

NP Screen™ has been in development since 2000 and approved in 2008 as a screening kit and laboratory protocol for the detection of nasopharyngeal carcinoma in high risk populations using EBV DNA amplification methodology under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (“CLIA”).

The initial 5 to 6 years was devoted particularly to a highly reproducible in-vitro DNA assay for detection of Epstein-Barr Nuclear Antigen-1 gene (EBNA1) in human specimens collected from the posterior nasopharyngeal epithelium using a developed trans-oral nasopharyngeal brush and brushing methodology. The test was developed in a single laboratory, using real-time polymerase chain reaction on an ABI Prism SDS Platform using NP Screen™ specifications. A proprietary transport buffer was ISO developed for the transport of epithelial brushings at room temperature and has been found to be stable for a prolonged time interval which enables the transport of specimens by mail carrier service.

Clinical trials in Canada and Hong Kong confirm that normal patients present negligible EBV DNA levels in the brush samples while test results from NPC patients indicate significantly higher EBV DNA levels. A statistically significant difference in EBV DNA counts between NPC positive and negative patients have been confirmed. The cutoff levels correlating between positive and negative NPC was established.

Clinical Studies

the-university-of-hong-kong

Queen-Mary-Hospital-Hong-Kong

Study 1:

NP Screen™ is excited to announce supporting a study designed by Dr. Dora Kwong, Head of Department of Clinical Oncology at Hong Kong University. Dr. Kwong will perform a prospective study to follow post-radiation NPC patients to assess
NP Screen™’s ability to diagnose the recurrence of NPC as compared to clinical assessment and Plasma EBV DNA. The total study will involve 20 patients and is expected to take 3 years to complete.

Study 2:

NP Screen™ is excited to announce supporting a second study designed by
Dr. Dora Kwong, Head of Department of Clinical Oncology at The University of Hong Kong . Dr. Kwong will perform a prospective study on patients diagnosed histologically as having recurrent NPC. A NP Screen™ brushing will also be performed to assess the sensitivity and specificity of NP Screen™ for detection of recurrent disease.

Study 3:

NP Screen™ is excited to announce supporting a second study designed by
Dr. Raymond King-Yin Tsang, Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery at The University of Hong Kong. Dr. Tsang will perform a study on detecting local recurrence in nasopharyngeal carcinoma by EBV DNA level in nasopharynx obtained by using transoral brush biopsies. A NP Screen™ brushing will also be performed to assess the sensitivity and specificity of NP Screen™ for detection of recurrent disease.

Back to Top