病理学

目前未发现已知的鼻咽癌病原体。然EB病毒感染和组织学类型II(非角化鳞状细胞癌)和III型(低分化鳞状细胞癌)鼻咽癌的关联不可忽视。EB病毒是鼻咽癌可靠的生物学标记。因为诸多非鼻咽或颈部转移淋巴结的原发性肿瘤有EB病毒基因组拷贝。EB病毒在鼻咽癌发病机制中的作用仍然是未知。类型病因I(角化鳞状细胞癌)可能与吸烟和酗酒有关。

遗传学

家族历史 –普通人群高达 2-15 x 的风险
男女比例为 3:1
与主要组织相容性复合体I类有关联

环境

•腌制蔬菜(亚硝胺)
•减少水果/蔬菜
•家用烟雾/烟
•烟草/乙醇
•职业风险

爱泼斯坦-巴尔病毒与鼻咽癌

EBV爱泼斯坦 – 巴尔病毒(EBV),也称为人疱疹病毒4型(HHV-4),是疱疹系列病毒,并且是在人体中的最常见的病毒之一。它最常见的形式是传染性单核白血球增多症(淋巴腺热)。 EB病毒感染通常发生在幼儿期。

科学研究证明EB病毒感染与鼻咽癌之间的联系是有极强连系。几乎所有鼻咽癌细胞都带有EB病毒基因。 EB病毒(EBV)被国际癌症研究机构(IARC)在1997年列为I类致癌物质。世卫组织(WHO)和美国癌症联合委员会(AJCC)将癌细胞中出现Epstein-Barr病毒(EBV)基因归类于早期原位癌(0期)。

全球超过95%的人口受到EB病毒感染,鼻咽癌由多个因素导致。EB病毒是个非常重要的鼻咽癌成因,但不是唯一的原因。目前可以确认,有许多因素可导致EB病毒入侵人体基因,例如环境致癌物质,遗传或免疫缺陷等都可导致EB病毒开启入侵。

Back to Top

Etiology

Presently, there is no known causative NPC agent identified. However, there is a consistent association of past Epstein Barr Virus (EBV) infection and the presence of histological type II (Non-Keratinizing Squamous Cell Carcinoma) and type III (Poorly Differentiated Squamous Cell Carcinoma) NPC. Primary tumors isolated from the nasopharynx and metastatic lymph nodes from the neck have many copies of EBV genomes, making this a reliable biological marker of NPC. The mechanism and the role of EBV in the pathogenesis of NPC still remain unknown. Etiology of Type I (keratinizing Squamous Cell Carcinoma) is likely related to smoking and alcohol use.

Genetics

Family History – 2-15 x increased risk over general population
Male to female incident ratio is 3:1
Association with major histocompatibility complex class I

Environmental Contributors

• Salted Fish
• Preserved Vegetables (nitrosamine)
• Reduced fruits/veggies
• Household smoke/fume
• Tobacco/EtoH
• Occupation

EBV

EBVThe Epstein Barr Virus (EBV), also called human herpesvirus 4 (HHV-4), is a virus of the herpes family, and is one of the most common viruses in humans. It is best known as the cause of infectious mononucleosis (glandular fever). EBV infection normally occurs in early childhood.

The association between EBV infection and NPC is well documented and cells with EBV genome are present in virtually all NPC cells. Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) was classified by the International Agency for Cancer Research (IARC) as a Class I carcinogen for NPC in 1997. Both the WHO and AJCC have classified it as the earliest form of cancer, carcinoma in-situ (Stage 0), with the presence of Epstein Barr Virus (EBV) DNA in the cancer cell.

Although 95% of the adult population worldwide may be infected with EBV at some point in their lives, the genesis of NPC is multifactorial. The presence of EBV is crucial to the formation of NPC but it is not the only cause. Currently, it is known that many factors can result in the activation of EBV, such as environmental carcinogens, genetics and/or immune deficiency.

Back to Top