鼻咽癌

鼻咽癌 (Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma, NPC)

鼻咽癌在亞裔人群中是一種死亡率很高的致命癌症。其中,中國南部是鼻咽癌的高發區,當地居民有極高的風險罹患鼻咽癌。統計顯示,男性比女性更易患病。亞裔男性一生罹患鼻咽癌的風險為1/53, 而女性為1/131。鼻咽癌高發年齡段為50至54歲,20歲之後患病率開始逐步上升。每年因罹患鼻咽癌而死亡的人數超過五萬名,這個數字令人感到十分痛心,因為鼻咽癌如果在早期被發現是完全可以治癒的。
Incidence Rate_TC

鼻咽癌的起源

鼻咽癌高發於中國南方部分地區(每10萬人中就有250個病例),佔全國癌症總數的18%,其中高發地區包括香港、廣東省等。同時,東南亞、地中海沿岸國家、非洲沿海地區、以及阿拉斯加和格林蘭島的北部土著(因紐特人)的居住區域等都是好發地區。眾多從高發地區移居至非高發地區(例如美國,加拿大和歐洲)的移民依然延續了他們的高患病風險。

npc

從人體解剖學看,鼻咽癌位於哪裡?

鼻咽癌是位於鼻咽部位最常見的惡性腫瘤。鼻咽指的是咽喉最上端的咽部,鼻腔,以及連接上呼吸道和鼻子的咽鼓管。

爱泼斯坦-巴尔病毒与鼻咽癌

EBV

愛潑斯坦 – 巴爾二氏病毒(EBV),也被稱為人皰疹病毒4型(HHV-4),是皰疹系列病毒,且是在人體中最常見的病毒之一。它即是導致傳染性單核白血球增多症(淋巴腺熱)的病因。 EB病毒感染通常發生在幼儿期。

科學研究證明EB病毒感染與鼻咽癌發病關係密切 。鼻咽癌患病人群中大多都檢測到有EB病毒基因組存在。在1997年,EB病毒(EBV)被國際癌症研究機構(IARC) 列為一類致鼻咽癌物質。世界衛生組織(WHO)和美國癌症聯合委員會(AJCC)將癌細胞中出現愛潑斯坦 – 巴爾二氏病毒病毒(EBV)基因歸類於早期原位癌(0期)。

全球有超過90%的人口都在幼儿期因流感被傳染,並攜帶著EB病毒。但鼻咽癌的產生是由多種因素所導致的,而​​EB病毒是其中一個非常重要的成因,但並非唯一的原因。目前可以確認的是,有許多因素可導致EB病毒入侵人體基因,例如環境致癌物質,遺傳或免疫缺陷等都可能導致EB病毒的入侵。

EB病毒是一個極佳檢測鼻咽癌的標誌物。利用EB病毒建立一個高度精確的篩選測試能夠改變鼻咽癌的早期檢測和治療的前景。尤其是對於那些有鼻咽癌家族史的人群而言,他們的患病風險是高危地區人群的2-15倍。

Back to Top

NPC

Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma (NPC)

Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma (NPC) is one of the leading causes of cancer deaths among ethnic Asian groups. Chinese individuals from Southern China have the highest risk in developing NPC. Statistics have shown that males are affected much more frequently than females with a life-time risk for developing NPC of 1 in 53 men compared to 1 in 131 women. NPC has a peak incidence in the 50 to 54 age range, with an incidence rate that starts to climb steadily to this point after 15-20 years of age. The annual mortality, or death rate, for this cancer exceeds 50,000 annually which is a tragic statistic because NPC can be cured when detected early.
Incidence Rate

Where is NPC endemic?

NPC is highly prevalent in the southern parts of China (30-250 per 100,000) including major cities like Hong Kong and Guangdong, accounting for 18% of all cancers in China. Intermediate incidence rates are found in Southeast Asia, the Mediterranean rim countries, coastal regions of Africa, and in the aboriginal populations of Alaska and Greenland. Large population of emigrants relocating from endemic areas to non-endemic areas such as United States, Canada and Europe also maintain their elevated risk status.

NPC originate

Where is NPC located in the human anatomy?

NPC is the most common cancer originating in the nasopharynx, the uppermost region of the pharynx (“throat”), behind the nose where the nasal passages and auditory tubes join the remainder of the upper respiratory tract.

EBV and NPC

EBV

The Epstein-Barr virus (EBV), also called human herpesvirus 4 (HHV-4), is a virus of the herpes family, and is one of the most common viruses in humans. It is best known as the cause of infectious mononucleosis (mono or glandular fever). EBV infection normally occurs in early childhood.

The association between EBV infection and NPC is well documented and cells with EBV genome are present in virtually all NPC cells. Epstein–Barr virus (EBV) was classified by the International Agency for Cancer Research (IARC) as a Class I carcinogen for NPC in 1997. Both the World Health Organization (WHO) and American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) have classified it as one of the earliest forms of cancer, carcinoma in-situ (Stage 0), with the presence of Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) DNA in the cancer cell.

Although 95% of the adult population worldwide may be infected at some time in their lives with EBV. The genesis of NPC is multifactorial; the presence of EBV is crucial to the formation of NPC but it is not the only cause. Currently, it was confirmed that many factors can result in the activation of EBV, such as environmental carcinogens, genetic and/or immune deficiency.

EBV is an extremely good marker for NPC detection. Utilizing EBV and creating a highly accurate screening test will change the landscape of NPC, especially, for people with a family history of NPC, whereby their risk of having NPC can be 20 times higher.

Back to Top